Hireth

cornishbirdblog

Hireth: longing, yearning, nostalgia (Cornish)

Recently I have been thinking about our ‘connection to place’. That undefinable feeling of belonging to somewhere.  A special bond that never leaves you, even after years of absence. Somewhere you feel joined to.  It won’t surprise you that I feel like that about Cornwall and more than that, the family farm where not only I but generations of my family grew up.

grandmother in trap (3) My grandmother & great-grandmother outside the farmhouse c1900

I realise however that not everyone feels like that about a place which is after all just dirt and stone. Isn’t family all you need to feel ‘at home’? Yet so many people have said that there is one place where their heart belongs and where I wonder where does that feeling come from?  Is it the memories of a happy childhood that creates that bond or sense of belonging? Is it something in your bones, your genetic make-up?  Your DNA?  Back in…

View original post 1,081 more words

3 thoughts on “Hireth

  1. Jayne Randall December 15, 2016 / 10:09 am

    Bear Humphreys led me to your blog and what a wonderful place it is, thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tracey Gemmell December 22, 2016 / 3:42 pm

    Hireth. A subject close to my heart. Place is as important to me as person; in my case, a longing to be back on Exmoor.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

