Those Ruined Places: Garrow Tor’s Lost Village

At the beginning of the year I wrote about the Cornish word Hireth, meaning a longer for somewhere, and I discussed how many people can feel a deep affliation or connection to a place.  For me Bodmin Moor with its wide skies, open space and jutting horizons is one of those places.

Canon Elliott-Binns’ 1955 book Medieval Cornwall contains this description – “The hills . . .  are very rugged, having been scored by the torrents of innumerable winters, and ravaged by the rays of summer suns . . . These wild tracts, stretching lonely and inhospitably beneath vast spaces of sky seem to have changed but little since first the eye of man fell upon their bewildering undulations.”

DSC09193

The Canon makes the moor sound slightly grim and unpleasant which it is I guess on a cold rainy day but it is also so much more.  Garrow Tor in particular speaks to me.   I think often about the walking there, memories flit through my minds-eye. The rustle of the grass against my legs, the summer heat rising from the granite or the trickle of the De Lank river, the only sound apart from the wind. I even wrote a short story about it.

DSC09189

But in this post I have a different story that I want to tell about the ruin of a cottage and a village that has vanished under the turf.  A cottage carefully built beside a slow running steam, with a hearth and a tidy garden wall and now it’s a cottage with no name and no roof.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There was once a little medieval moorland village here, known I believe as simply Garrow (sometimes Garrah).  From the 13th to the 15th centuries the community thrived but by 1841 it had been reduced to just one farmstead occupied by shepherd Thomas Green, his wife Elizabeth and their 6 sons.

DSC09183

When my cottage was finally abandoned I am not really sure.  The state of it’s decay indicates that it was a fair while ago.  There is no sign of glass in the windows and nettles grow out of the fireplace.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

No one has tended this garden for many years, although the sheep seem to love the richer grass that you find around old habitations.  I find other peoples memories in what remains – an old metal gate hanging still attached to its granite post, the view from a window of the horizon, the sound of the wind in the leaves of those beech trees planted for shelter and shade.

DSC09184
Bridge made of solid granite crossing the river to the cottage

The stone bridge, the weedy hearth and those stunted beech trees are all that remain of the last owners hard existence out on this moor.  Their cottage’s shell still stands, but only just, beneath the looming shadows of Cornwall’s highest hills – Brown Willy and Rough Tor.  Still one of my favourite places to be.

For more ruined places try: Those Ruined places: Merther or Those Ruined Places : The Vacant Farm

6 thoughts on “Those Ruined Places: Garrow Tor’s Lost Village

  1. Lesley August 25, 2016 / 12:34 pm

    Fascinating Elizabeth and what a find, I do love the fact that those amazing lintels are still in place holding memories 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tracey Gemmell October 2, 2016 / 9:51 pm

    Why do particular places speak to us the way they do? “I find other people’s memories in what remains…” you say. I wonder if those other people’s memories are also our own in some way.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gary Crossley November 19, 2016 / 5:48 pm

    Love the pictures! I am undertaking a study of the area and have collected quite a bit of information about this particular cottage and its inhabitants (and have taken some similar though not as good photographs). My understanding, however, based on the tithe apportionment and other evidence is that the cottage was occupied by Ezekiel Tinney and his family in 1841. It was still occupied by his direct descendants 70 years later. Incidentally, I have a copy of a beautiful photograph of some of the people who inhabited this cottage in the early 1900s. Best wishes, Gary (P.S. that little bridge is Grade II listed!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • esdale77 November 20, 2016 / 12:03 am

      Wow Gary, thank you so much for the information, this is a crazy coincidence but my grand mother was a Tinney!! How odd, as it is a reasonably unusual surname! I’d love any further info you have as I just think its a wonderful spot 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

