Box Brownie: The next step

Since I found my Brownie camera in a charity shop I have been on a sharp learning curve as I have got to know it and have gradually built up a picture of how this funny black box actually works.  I plan to do a couple more blogs on the anatomy of my Brownie and its few but important features.  It, like me, is not a complicated soul but may need a little coaching to get the best out of it!

fb_img_1462971583042.jpg
Falmouth Seafront

 

Today however I just wanted to share some pictures with you because these my friends are the first pictures that I have developed myself!!! And I have to say despite all my nerves about whether I was going to be able to do this or not I loved it.  Needless to say these will not be the last prints I make with my own hands!

fb_img_1462972919386.jpg
Padstow
fb_img_1462972932587.jpg
Padstow
fb_img_1462972925086.jpg
Zennor Quoit
fb_img_1462972949050.jpg
Flags for Obby Oss Day
fb_img_1462972958528.jpg
Pendennis Castle, Falmouth
fb_img_1462972939887.jpg
May Pole, Penryn
fb_img_1462972914650.jpg
Little Chapel, Falmouth

 

For more on Box Brownies try: Roadtrip with my Box Brownie, Lady behind the lens, Adventures with my Box Brownie: Part 2 How to load your film!, My Box Brownie camera, Adventures with Parralax Error!

13 thoughts on “Box Brownie: The next step

  1. Sounds•Pictures•Words May 11, 2016 / 2:18 pm

    Nice shots, CB – I particularly like the flags shot and Zennor – the Brownie gives them a timeless look, they could’ve been taken in the 1940s – think I might have to come up with a photoshop workaround to get a similar effect! G

    Liked by 1 person

    • esdale77 May 11, 2016 / 2:23 pm

      Thank you 😃its giving me a lot of joy taking them and now developing too! I dont really know much about Photoshop tbh but happy if I’ve given you an idea 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sounds•Pictures•Words May 11, 2016 / 2:24 pm

        The simplicity attracts me – but then the reality (and recollections) of film processing, sending off, getting one or two pics out of 20 that are worth keeping puts me off – I’m a slave to the digital these days, sadly!

        Like

      • esdale77 May 11, 2016 / 2:29 pm

        I understand that, I do both, my phone mostly but the brownie makes me take my time and think about every shot

        Liked by 2 people

  2. catmab May 11, 2016 / 5:41 pm

    Like the chapel shots and the seafront – just transports me home! Flags are great too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ellen Hawley May 11, 2016 / 6:20 pm

    The Brownie box camera is out of my childhood, and the texture of the photos reminds me of that period. Nostalgia in a box.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. stevenjwillard May 11, 2016 / 6:45 pm

    Thomas Wolfe wrote that we can’t go home again. But, I think if we could, I’d want to take my old Yashica twin lens, the first camera from which processed my own film (and printed, too). A very nice series oh photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Anne Guy May 11, 2016 / 10:06 pm

    Great photos good composition and you have printed them yourself….well done!! B and W shots are wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lesley May 12, 2016 / 9:00 pm

    So takes me back so many years a) the unique style of image from BB and b) location shots my childhood., says and communicates a lot in many ways lots of ?s why !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

